LPP strapline

Medicines Optimisation & Pharmacy Procurement

The Medicines Optimisation and Pharmacy Procurement workstream delivers cost effective prices on medicines and related products, and also supports the London-wide QIPP work on medicines use and procurement.

Medicines cost the NHS £2 billion a year in London alone, split equally between Clinical Commissioning Groups (mainly GP prescriptions) and acute and mental health trusts. Hospital medicine expenditure is rising by about 12 percent a year, partly due to the introduction of new high cost medicines.

We work to encourage prescribing which is both clinically effective and cost effective by establishing clinical guidelines for high cost treatments. We also encourage the use of non-branded medicines or changing from one type of medicine to another where appropriate.

 

We work in two distinct areas, primary care and secondary care.

 

We help NHS organisations by:

  • making savings on a range of pharmacy and related products
  • providing pan-London pricing so each hospital pays the same price
  • ensuring compliance with EU regulations
  • keeping NHS organisations up-to-date on new medicines, medicines coming off patent and changes to the market
  • working with NHS organisations on guidelines for the use of medicines
  • providing monthly benchmarking, savings and cost avoidance data

 

 

Our People

NameTitleTelephoneEMail
Aisha Achha Medicines Optimisation & Pharmacy Procurement Project Manager 020 7188 6697 aisha.achha@lpp.nhs.uk
Azhar Saleem GP Specialist to MOPP 020 7188 6697 azhar.saleem@nhs.net
Darush Attar-Zadeh Pharmacist 07961 393032 darush.attar-zadeh@barnetccg.nhs.uk
Jackie Eastwood Outsourced Medicines Supply Services Lead 07500 573068 jacqueline.eastwood@lpp.nhs.uk
Jas Khambh Pharmacy & Medicines Optimisation Lead, Primary Care 020 7188 6689 jas.khambh@lpp.nhs.uk
Krunal Sharma Category Specialist 020 7188 7188 x56474 krunal.sharma@lpp.nhs.uk
Marc Osborne Project Manager - Medicines Optimisation and Pharmacy Procurement 07886 632666 marc.osborne@lpp.nhs.uk
Pauline Mccalla Lead Cancer Pharmacist 07500 577921 pauline.mccalla@nhs.net
Phil Aubrey Medicines Optimisation and Pharmacy Procurement Secondary Care Lead 07795 841694 philip.aubrey@nhs.net
Rebecca Fisher Dietitian Project Manager 0207 188 6680 rebecca.fisher@lpp.nhs.uk
Stephanie Hibbs Pharmacy Procurement and Contracts Manager 020 3313 0376 stephanie.hibbs@imperial.nhs.uk
Vicky Chaplin Senior Pharmacist for Medicines Optimisation 020 7188 7329 victoria.chaplin@lpp.nhs.uk
Wajid Qureshi Interim Lead for Medicines Optimisation Primary Care workstream 0203 688 2358 wajidqureshi@nhs.net
LPP Prior Information Notice

International Healthcare Professionals Recruitment and Associated Services

A PIN for a new framework agreement covering International Healthcare Professionals Recruitment and Associated Services has been published by NHS Commercial Solutions on behalf of NHS London Procurement Partnership and the NHS Collaborative Procurement Partnership hubs.

The purpose of this PIN is to encourage any organisations interested in delivering International Healthcare Professionals Recruitment and Associated Services under a framework agreement to engage with NHS Commercial Solutions, in order to meet the needs of CPP hub members and other NHS organisations entitled to use the resulting framework agreement. 

Estimated date of publication of contract notice: 26/10/2017

PIN information is available on TED, 2017/S 169-346949